Academy invites 178 to membership

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 178 artists and executives to join the organization.

“These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today,” said Academy President Tom Sherak.  “Their talent and creativity have entertained moviegoers around the world, and I welcome each of them to our ranks.”

2011 invites include:

  • Gerard Butler
  • Vincent Cassel
  • Robbie Coltrane
  • Bradley Cooper
  • Jesse Eisenberg
  • Jennifer Garner
  • Mila Kunis
  • Jennifer Lawrence
  • Dominic Monaghan
  • Ellen Page
  • Mia Wasikowska

The King’s Speech
director Tom Hooper has also been invited as well as, erm, Russell Brand and Beyonce Knowles. I would understand if Knowles was listed under music but instead she’s in down as actress. Actress? I’m not so sure. Brand is only just starting out and, in my opinion, should have stuck to stand up.

2 thoughts on “Academy invites 178 to membership

Add yours

  1. Russell Brand! The only thing this will achieve is increase the static in this man’s ever expanding hair. What was that god awful film he was in recently…damn it, I keep getting it mixed up with that other rubbish film he was in.

    Great to hear about Tom Hooper though.

    1. Yup, I’m pleased for Tom. He did a great job with The King’s Speech and I look forward to his next releases.

      I’m glad someone else is unhappy about Russel Brand’s invitation! I just don’t get it…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: